(0)

Reviews

See what our riders are saying

I could not be happier with my Faraday Porteur! I’m a long time bicycle commuter, designer and father. This bike appeals to all parts of my life. It’s hands down the most well designed e-bike I’ve ridden and quite frankly, a true disrupter to the car centric culture we live in. Riding the Porteur with my 3 year old on the back is the best part of my day. If the bike wasn’t enough, the customer support is outstanding. This is a bicycle made by folks who are truly passionate about their product. Ride one and you’ll understand!

Feb 21, 2018 by riyad

The Porter is among my prized possessions. It brings me joy to ride and I look for excuses to take it out for a spin. I treat it as a second car and run errands with it, but it’s not the practicality that makes me love it; it’s the feeling it gives me on the road. I’ve ridden other electric bikes and none feel the way the Porteur does. It’s almost magical. It gives me confidence in traffic and the riding position is comfortable enough to make long rides a treat. But I can’t get enough of how beautiful it is. I get stopped and asked about it all the time and where I park it, someone is always standing and looking at it. It’s really something else, and worth every penny.

Feb 15, 2018 by Conrad Albrecht-Buehler

I love this bike. I purchased my Porteur because I have a cervical compression and was told I couldn’t ride my touring bike anymore. Most upright right bikes are ugly, bulky, and heavy. The Porteur is beautiful, compact, and although heavy, relative to my touring bike, it weighs almost nothing compared to most upright bikes and it is super light for an electric bike. I commute ~18 miles a day and I could not imagine commuting any other way. One charge gets me to and from work (put hills) with battery power to spare!

Oh, the best part. I can maintain “my street cred.” My Porteur doesn’t look like an electric bike. It is an absolute joy to ride.

Dec 27, 2017 by Magdalena

We love our Porteurs! My wife and I each bought one and we could t be happier. Running errands is fun now!

Dec 21, 2017 by Larry Huhn

I have been riding my Porteur for over 2 years now and I still think it is one of the best purchases I’ve made. Living on a hill it makes life so much easier for commuting and running errands. And I don’t have to worry about arriving at work sweaty but I still get some physical activity in. One of the best things is that it is so stylish it is like an electric bike in disguise. Highly recommended!

Dec 21, 2017 by Courtney B

Absolutely terrific bike. Exactly as advertised.

Dec 21, 2017 by Bill Mooney

I thought I had accomplished as much fun as I could possibly have on the bikes that I owned… sadly mistaken. Faraday changed everything! Think of these machines as the perfect way to: smile constantly at up to 20 miles per hour, get to a date sans sweaty clothing, grocery shop with less physical power wasted, arrive to a destination in style, and make your friends hella jealous. The bikes are light, sleek and simple to use. Thank you Adam and Colin of Faraday!

Aug 16, 2017 by Aaron Edge

My Faraday Porteur is a real joy to ride, taking the dread out of long steep hills, opening up cycle rides that otherwise would’ve proved too long and arduous.

And in traffic, when the lights turn green, I’m away like the wind, leaving other riders struggling to stand on their pedals to gain momentum, gulping the fumes of car as they cross the intersection.

Best of all,  I can now easily keep pace pace with an extremely fit cycling friend who has biked from Seattle to Washington DC. So all in all I’m grinning wide and happy and very pleased with my Faraday!

Best wishes to you all

Jul 18, 2017 by Simon H.

I’M IN LOVE!

I picked up my bike at the end of a very hectic day today. First off, it’s a thing of beauty to behold, and working with Bicycle Space in DC was a pleasure.

The real joy was climbing on and sailing home. The 6 miles from the bike shop flew by, the 87 degree heat and humidity were not an issue, and the hills that plague the end of my ride disappeared. I rode in normal assist, boosting on the hills and also rode without assist on the flats. It rides like a dream without the assist and when it does kick in its a very seamless change. I got home, adjusted the seat a tiny bit, then got back on and rode some more.

I’m looking forward to leaving the car at home and having a happier, lower stress commute. The count starts Monday. 280 trips to work and the bike will have paid for itself in saved parking fees.

Thanks for great service and a great bike!

Jul 10, 2017 by James M.

Living on the side of a hill, I wasn’t able to bike and kept getting in worse and worse shape. Having the Porteur made the steepest part of the hill possible, allowing me to build up my strength. Now I mostly use the assist to have a quick-start at traffic lights when there are cars behind me. This bike gave me the chance to enjoy biking again.

Jun 16, 2017 by Eric

This bike is excellent for commuting and a beauty to behold. In my 18 months going back and forth to work and transporting my kid to daycare, performance has been flawless. The bike allows me to ride through winter and the heat waves of Washington DC summers in my business attire without breaking a sweat. My only regret is that I didn’t splurge for the regular Porteur, as I ended up upgrading my Porteur S with a lot of the same equipment and could have used the internal gear system’s ability to change gears while standing still at the red lights.

Feb 15, 2018 by Erik

It makes riding in San Francisco doable. It is a beautiful bike and has turned me into a bike commuter. I really enjoy riding now and of course it is beautiful!

Dec 09, 2016 by Alyse

We absolutely love our new bikes! My wife and I each bought a Portuer S and we are in love with them. We live on a pretty steep hill (8-12%) and I got tired of getting in the car to run errands or get last minute groceries, because I didn’t want to ride back up the hill. Now I love to run errands because I get to ride my new Portuer S. I really appreciate the styling and how everything is integrated into the design, rather than the typical cobbled together ebikes that are the norm. Thanks for a fun, practical and stylish bike!

Oct 14, 2016 by Larry Huhn

The best part of my morning commute is riding my Faraday Porteur S. I love cycling but I hate ending up at work sweaty so the little boost from the battery is just the thing to breeze there in style. It’s even been a dry way to get to work when the streets are wet with the built-in fenders. Definitely get the leather lock-holder and brass bell. Both are elegant and add to the overall style.

Dec 15, 2015 by Jason S.

Best bike ever! And now it’s on sale.

Dec 15, 2015 by Steve

There You know the beauty is universal?, always someone ask to me : where I can buy one like your bike? I say look the Faraday site. My family and I we feel so fine, thanks for great design!

Oct 21, 2015 by Hugo Estuardo

I love riding my Faraday.  It’s a joy to be outside during my morning commute, it’s faster than any other method, cheaper than any other motorized method and best of all: I don’t get sweaty!  It’s just the best way to get around.  Now I just need to get my wife one…

Oct 21, 2015 by Darius

My happiness level jumped 4 points when I purchased my Faraday. Besides being a beautiful ride, it’s fun and I can’t wait for my ride. Add being outside in nature…exercise just doesn’t get any better.

Feb 15, 2018 by Donna Worsham

Had my Faraday Courtland since March 2017. I have put about 2,500 km on it commuting to and from work (34 km round trip). I love this bike. While I have always enjoyed commuting by bike, it has raised my pleasure to a whole new level. Winds no longer trouble me, and my commute time has shrunk. I am often complimented by other cyclists on what a beautiful bike the Courtland is. My commute to and from work is often the best part of my day, a comment I cannot make when driving or taking public transit.
It handles like a bicycle, and I appreciate being required to peddle, but choosing my level of assist.

I strongly recommend a Faraday to anyone considering an e-bike. It is the best purchase that I have ever made.

Karen, the happy cyclist 🙂

Jan 05, 2018 by Karen Ward

I’m 76 years young and just love my Cortland. The perfect mix of exercise and fun.

Dec 21, 2017 by Joan M.

My wife absolutely loves her Faraday! This was truly a great investment. Thank you

Jul 28, 2017 by Tony Lopez

I forgot to leave a star rating. 5 stars it is!

Jul 18, 2017 by camilla chalmers

I love my Faraday so very much! Pre-Faraday, I hated biking. Now, I cannot get enough. Best part has to be the look on other bikers faces’ when you zoom past them. Thank you, Faraday, for making such beautiful and usable bike!

Jun 27, 2017 by Renee P.

I got my Faraday Cortland in October in the most fantastic “where did you get that color” Stingray Blue. I’m riding 50% more than I did previously. It makes commuting a dream. Quiet, comfortable, style on wheels. Now that the rains are finally over, expect me to be on it every day. It is something to no longer be the slowest commuter on the main drag and instead be able to keep up with even fastest riders. Most days I beat the bus that I would have caught. And I’m still getting a good workout, pedaling all the way. Thanks Faraday for a beautiful ride.

May 19, 2017 by Marguerite Young

One of the most beautiful, well balanced electric bikes I’ve ever tested, silent belt drive with internally geared eight speed Shimano Alfine hub.

Feb 23, 2016 by Electric Bike Review

We love our Cortland S e-bikes. Have now used them in two states – TN and WA — and in both states people come up to us to ask about the beautiful bike design. We are getting close to 20-25 miles on a charge and never have had a problem with them in the 12 months we own them. Every time I need information about the bike, get rapid and clearly understood responses to our questions that help us. Would recommend this bike and company to others. Now it would be nice to have the auxiliary battery pack so we can travel even further distances between charges.

Jan 09, 2018 by Eric

My Cortland S is a great commuter for Seattle’s hills, plus day rides when the weather is nicer. I am impressed how well it handles steep streets, and how comfortable it is for a non-suspension e-bike. Yes, it is stylish, and a bit stealthy as well. I often take the longer way home to enjoy the ride and to get more fitness.

Dec 21, 2017 by Norm

My husband and I have been looking to buy electric bikes for a year now. I have test driven many bikes, all styles and price points. The Faraday Courland S is by far the most comfortable to ride, the easiest to operate and the smoothest transition when using pedal assist. Esthetics are subjective. I do think it is the best looking electric bike out there. Classy!

Sep 19, 2017 by Jan Dunham

Bicycling to work is my primary mode of transportation, rain or shine. The boost helps me to power through intersections quickly and I no longer dread going up hills. Very happy with my Faraday!

Aug 25, 2017 by joanne

I gave my wife a Cortland S as a gift and she now thoroughly enjoys our evening rides. The hills have become effortless and just smiles as she breezes past me on the climbs.

Jul 18, 2017 by Chris

I’ve had my new Cortland S for a bit over a week now, and it’s already changing how I exercise and travel — for example, I wanted to get a U-lock that would optimally fit in the slot for that in the Faraday rear rack, so I just rode my bike to my local REI store to do that. Downhill quite a bit. In the rain. What a pleasure! I used to just refuse to bike in any kind of rain — and I live in the Seattle area — but now I’m buying myself some bike-specific raingear.

Trying to decide if I really want to get rid of my 224-speed hybrid bike now, so I rode it a bit, then the same route with the Cortland without electric assist, then a third time with electric assist. Was happy that even with just 8-speeds, the Cortland was close to “as good” as the hybrid, even though it’s lowest gear isn’t quite as low. I don’t want to jump to any definite conclusions this early on, but so far I am really loving this, and find that I don’t carefully think of routes that avoid painful hills anymore (if anything, the contrary).

Mar 27, 2017 by Brian Lewis

A light weight city style electric bike that draws on classic styles and geometry but delivers good comfort and handling.

Feb 23, 2016 by Electric Bike Review